Prudence

I heard a creak outside and as I tried to lift my face, I saw the door slightly opened. A voice tried to whisper, “Prudence! Prudence! Come on.”

He was there, softly enunciating secrets like a man trying to speak to someone in the middle of a funeral. I noticed he did not want to go in because he was too scared like I am. I sat properly and widened my eyes to see if I was dreaming or not. I was not. I crawled back into the white wet sheets filled with liquid tears and fluid blood. He looked outside and watched if someone would hunt him down, but no one did. He took the courage to go inside, went near me and spoke, “Prudence. Come on, girl. I’ll get you out of here.”

Not a single word came out from my mouth. I just stared at him blankly with ill-fated eyes questioning his actions. He untangled the ropes that had been wrapped around my arms and feet for five days now. He took off the piece of cloth circled around my mouth which had been preventing me from breathing freely. He spoke again, “Prudence, let’s go.”

“Where are you taking me? He’s going to find out.”
“He won’t.”
“What are you doing?”
“I’m saving you. I’m taking you home.”

I was afraid, but it didn’t matter. The sound of ‘home’ collected my thoughts and gathered my strength. I tried to stand with the help of his arms and I was able to. He walked me to the door and there, we heard footsteps of a demon heading towards our direction.

“Shit.” he called.
“What do we do now?” I said.
“Wait here.”

He went out and I flew back to where I was before. I heard murmurs outside I couldn’t understand. I don’t know if I was just too sick or if they were just too silent. I closed my eyes and rested my head on the sacks of grains that had become my pillow since the day I lost track of the world outside. I sighed heavily; I could not anymore fathom the heart panics I was having at that time. I took a deep breath and started considering the offers of sleep. I fell into deep slumber.

Was I asleep?

I heard a shot. A trigger, pulled. I saw blood creeping inside the room.

I thought I am going to see home. I will never see home.

Leave a comment